DRW.org » Tonight's game vs Florida
Posted December 15, 2003 - 01:02 PM
Posted December 15, 2003 - 06:50 PM
Posted December 15, 2003 - 11:11 PM
There was a funny call that the refs made against the Wings that created a little controversy. A Florida player broke his stick (it was still in one peice, but broken) and threw it away in front of the goal. Shanahan swept the stick with his own stick out of the way (toward the boards) and a ref called him with interference. I realize that you can sweep a good stick away from a player as this is interference. Shanahan grabbed the stick after the call and showed that it was broken, but still went to the box for 2 minutes.
I don't know what the final verdict on the rules were, but I would think that this would not be interference as the player could not have grabbed the stick back, even if he wanted to, without getting his own 2 minute penalty.
I think this was just a crappy call from a ref. Oh, it was also the ref that was FURTHEST away from the play that made the call. Another case in point for eliminating the two ref system...
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users